Anzac Day

Hey guys!

So in Australia and New Zealand we have this day called Anzac Day on the 25th of April which is a day on which we remember and give thanks to the soldiers who gave their lives for our country in war. Particularly the First World War when the Anzacs went to Gallipoli and if you’re not aware of what happened at Gallipoli, it was very tragic and many lives were lost over the fight at Gallipoli. Over 8, 000 Australian soldiers were killed.

ANZAC stands for Australian and New Zealand Army Corps. Essentially it’s just the combined Australian and New Zealand army forces.

In most schools we have special Anzac ceremonies where we have guest speakers from the army and all of the defense students and their parents come in and do some ceremonial things. It’s a very sad time for us all to think about but the point of Anzac Day is to remember those who died in order for us to be a free and happy country.

I’ve never really thought much about Anzac Day because honestly I was a stupid little shit but in this Anzac Ceremony I was really thinking about all of those people, young and old who died for me to live in a happy environment. So I thought it was only fair to write a special blog post about it.

On Anzac Day we always have a minute of silence where we are meant to stand in silence and remember and thank all the Anzacs for what they did for us. In this minute of silence it is tradition for a trumpet to be played and truly it’s something that I love hearing because it’s the sound of us remembering and being thankful for what we have which is not something that happens too often in modern civilization.

I wrote a bit of a short story to show a bit more about what Anzac day is for us, I hope you enjoy it!

I remember the icy cold air that bit my face and skin before I stepped into the midst of battle. The thick uniforms of which we wore and the cold metal helmets that shielded our lives. The feeling of the gun in my hand, held with responsibility and courage to protect my country. I remember my friends, old and new and my opponents yelling and screaming as we ran towards each other in a fury. Some of the faces across from me were so young that my memories from those times were growing fuzzy but some had lived the same years as me, experiencing the same things and breathing the same air. The sound of shots being fired filled the air and bullets flashed past me in a blur. My fellow soldiers were falling to the ground around me, some lay to their deaths but some stood and kept fighting. I remember the red hot pain that slashed through my leg as I fell to the ground myself, the crumpled red poppies of Flanders Field surrounding me. And I remember the kind man’s face as he stopped and lent down to help me. But I also remember him jolting as a bullet tore through his chest, sending him tumbling down onto me as blood spurt from his wound. I remember the dread and shame as I dragged his body and my own across the ground towards safety. Then the thankful moment when I was hauled to the safety I had been willing for and the dreadful one when the kind man was blanketed by a white sheet and his kind face was never seen again. And now as I stand here remembering these things in that same old uniform, medals lining my chest, I listen to the trumpet play that familiar tune. The silence of the crowd is overwhelming but I know what they are thinking. They are remembering. And as dawn becomes day we all chant together in hope and thanks, “Lest we forget.”

That was way longer than I expected it to be. Sorry! But I hope you found it interesting.

By the way, the relevance of the poppies in Flanders Field is because the poppies were the natural flowers that were growing in the field at the time but were destroyed as a result of the fighting although they did grow back but they are now a symbol that we use a lot for Anzac Day. I think it was said that they were red poppies because they had been coloured with the blood of fallen soldiers which is very depressing.

Anyway I hope you enjoyed reading this post, although it’s not very relevant to most of you I really wanted to post this and maybe some of you did enjoy learning about Anzac Day. Lastly I have this poem that is said at the Anzac ceremonies for you guys and if you would like more information on Anzac Day then you can click here. Thanks for reading!

 

We shall not grow old, as we that are left grow old,

Age shall not weary them nor the years condemn,

At the going down of the sun and in the morning,

We will remember them

Lest we forget

Love always

Jags xxx

2 thoughts on “Anzac Day

Leave a Reply

