A Short Story

Hey guys!

This term in English we’re doing short stories and as some of you may know, I LOVE to write. It’s one of my favourite hobbies and I love getting my ideas and thoughts down. That’s also partly why I started blogging. Anyway for our assignment we had to write a short story based on a photo and honestly, I’m quite happy with how mine turned out so I thought I would share it with you all!

Hope you enjoy!

Hunter shortstory photo.png

Small specks of snow fell around me, creating a winter wonderland on the abandoned trail through the forest. My only companion was the barn owl that sat on my shoulder, squawking into my ear as birds flited out in front of us, back and forth as they tried to escape the icy air that bit at my cheeks. I pulled my red coat around me tighter and hugged myself as I trudged through the thick snow that was laid on the ground all around. All of a sudden the line of trees ended and I entered into a passage in the forest where footsteps and carriage marks were imprinted into the snow. The snow was thinner there, my boots barely sinking in and my white lacey dress able to follow along behind me neatly. The rim was tattered and slightly damp from the journey across many hills and into many valleys. But I was finally here now and that was all that mattered. I was away from those horrid people who trapped me and told me lies for 18 years. As I followed the path, I walked in the shoe imprints of another, as I had done with my long gone sister many years ago on the beaches of my old home. I heard a rattling sound in the distance, approaching at a quick pace and I turned to see a carriage made of dark wood with majestic white horses pulling it along, their silky manes flowing out behind them. The driver, a small pudgy man with curly blonde hair, sat behind the horses and suddenly halted the footsteps of the creatures and jumped down to the ground where he opened the carriage door, offering a hand to the figure inside. When they appeared into the light, I gasped. It was a lady, the most beautiful woman I had ever seen. Her skin was as fair as the snow that masked the landscape around us, her eyes were an icy blue that stared into my soul and her hair was pure white. She wore a lacy blue and white dress that trailed behind her on the snow.

“Greetings, young lady.” She spoke in a soft tone. “What brings you out here all alone on a day like this?”

I stayed silent as she studied me, looking me up and down. Her eyes drifted up to the owl and she stroked him with the back of her hand.

“Beautiful creatures, aren’t they?” she said.

I didn’t say a word.

“Come, child. I will take you to the town where you will be safe.” She gestured behind her to the carriage.

I hesitated at the door, looking back at the woman. Then I stepped inside. The seats were made of fabric the same shade of blue as the woman’s dress, silky and shiny. I stroked it absently as I sat, looking out the window at the still falling snow. The carriage trembled as the horses trotted along the uneven ground. Out of the corner of my eye I could see the woman still staring at me in curiosity.

“Where did you come from?” she asked.

After a pause I replied. “A land far from here. Where the hills are burnt black and the land is filled with dread.”

“And who are your people?”

“They no longer exist. My people have been dying out for years and now, I’m the only one left. Apart from… “

She waved her hand for me to continue, “Yes, who?”

“Apart from the hunters. They slaughtered my people and our land, leaving us with nothing.”

She fell silent and I moved my gaze back to the window where I now saw a town ahead of us. We passed an old wooden sign with big fancy lettering that read Winslow. I had finally reached my destination. The carriage came to a halt outside an old tavern. The door opened and the chubby face of the driver appeared. The woman gestured for me to exit and so I stood, the lady following after me. We stood outside the tavern where cheers and loud chatter was escaping through the windows and door.

“Before I leave you, may I ask your name?” she questioned.

“I’m afraid not.” I replied.

She looked at me again, either anger or disappointment in her eyes. I couldn’t tell. Then she turned and gracefully got back into the carriage. The driver gently shut the door then scurried up the front, yelling at the horses to move. I stood, watching as they disappeared around a corner in the street then I turned and entered the tavern. As I passed the crowds of drunken men, they turned to look at me as I walked down the middle aisle with snow trailing behind me. I sat at the bar and removed my hood, asking for a glass of water from the bartender who looked at me strangely. After a while a man appeared next to me in a black hood.

“I know who you are.” He said in a scratchy voice.

“And who may that be?” I answered.

He looked at me from under the shadow of his hood.

“You’re the one who escaped.”

As he said that, shouts and screams erupted from outside. The tavern door was forced open, slamming against the wall and revealing a group of men. One of them stepped forward, countless blades and bows strapped to his body. Half of his face was covered in a dirty black fabric. His one visible eye locked with mine and he smiled, showing off his yellowing teeth.

“Look who it is.” He taunted.

Then the rest of the men stumbled in and they joined together in a haunting laugh. They had found me. The ones I feared. The hunters.

And that’s it!

Hopefully I get a good grade on this as I’m really proud of it and I like it so much!

See you guys soon!

Love always

Jags xxx

 

 

12 thoughts on “A Short Story

  1. This is sooo well written! I can really picture the entire thing in my head and its perfect.
    I write stories on my blog too! Maybe you’d like to check them out and drop some feedback? Thanks x
    Also you should continue this! It’ll be brilliant!
    Stay strong and keep writing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I’d love to check out some of your stuff as well. I’m sure it’s amazing and I’ll be sure to comment as well 🙂
      I’ve been considering for ages if I should continue this and so many people have said yes so maybe I better start writing up a new chapter, haha!
      Thanks for all the support xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

