Jags’ Book Recommendations!

Hey guys!

I looooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove reading.

Too much?

Okay, I’ll tone it down a bit…

I love reading so much that I decided to make a book list. Most of these will be books I read ages ago and if you enjoy this then maybe I’ll consider doing another.

Enjoy!

The list:

-All The Bright Places

-The Other Side Of Summer

-Too Close To Home

-If I Stay

All The Bright Places

I can’t even explain in words how much this book touched me. It was so sad and beautiful and just all round AH.

It’s about two teenagers; Violet and Theodore (a.k.a Finch). Both of them have mental health issues and the story actually begins with them on top of the bell tower at their high school. Both of them are considering jumping off the bell tower to end their lives but Finch manages to coax Violet out of it, and so the friendship begins. Throughout the story you follow the two characters from their different points of view as their relationship grows and changes and they go on many adventures together.

I can guarantee that if you read this book, when you close the last page, you will be sobbing your little heart out just like I was. It’s definitely one of my favourite books of all time and is definitely something I would re-read so I really recommend it!

Jags Rating: 9/10

The Other Side Of Summer

I actually finished this book really recently and I thought it was really different and interesting. Originally when I first read the blurb and started reading the book, I thought it would be one of those classic, cheesy teenage books that we all know and love but, oh, how wrong I was. It turned out be so much more than that.

The story is from the point of view of Summer, a teenage girl living in England. After losing her brother, Floyd, in a terrible accident her family starts to break apart with her mother developing depression, her sister; Wren being angry at everybody 24/7 and her Dad trying to mend their broken family with no success. But everything for Summer changes when her Dad comes up with a ‘brilliant’ plan to ship them all off to Australia. She brings along Floyd’s old guitar, the Ibanez Artwood, which survived the accident. But she soon realizes that there is more to this guitar than meets the eye.

This book took such a turn and I was actually really suprised by the outcome and the plot of the story but I really enjoyed it.

Jags Rating: 6.5/10

Too Close To Home

I read this so long ago so my memory might be a bit blurry and not all the details may be correct but this was a book that I found really engaging. It’s not really about love, more about family and friendships but I though it was really good anyway.

Minny’s life is a mess. After her father left Minny’s whole family had to move into her grandmothers house which was no overflowing in junk. All she wants is some time alone to herself in a catastrophic home where she is never left alone by annoying siblings, her nagging grandmothers and irritating friends. To top it all off, her autistic sister Aisling is getting bullied at school. But when her father rings home, Minny’s world comes toppling down around her as he tries to make amends.

Although some bits were slightly confusing, I absolutely loved this book!

Jags Rating: 6/10

If I Stay

HO-LY CRAP.

You’ll know what I mean once you’ve read this book. In one part, I was literally sobbing and I couldn’t stop for so long. AHHHH THE EMOTIONS ARE TOO MUCH.

The story evolves around Mia who is a young teenage girl obsessed with classical music and her boyfriend, Adam. Her family is a little different to most. Her Dad is a former famous rock band member and both of her parents-and her little brother too, soon-are into partying and rock music. Mia couldn’t be more different to them, especially with her boyfriend being exactly like them as well. But on one snowy day on one slippery road her life is changed forever with only one impossible choice left to make. Do I leave? Or do I stay?

Just read it. That’s all I need to say.

Jags Rating: 9/10

Well, I hope you enjoyed thoroughly because I certainly did. I really love talking about books and I guess, maybe, you like reading about them? Or maybe you just enjoy reading as I babble on about things. By the way, those little descriptions I made myself so don’t expect the story to be exactly like that because most of those books I read ages ago. I should probably just shut up now and leave you be.

Love always

Jags xxx

2 thoughts on “Jags’ Book Recommendations!

Leave a Reply

