February/March Book Reviews!

As of right now I’m at home dying of the plague and so I thought I would spend my countless hours here on the couch writing a blog post for you all. You may have seen my February/March reading list that I shared with you in February, and as it’s April now I thought I’d share my reviews of the books I read.

The list:

  • Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas
  • A Thousand Pieces Of You by Claudia Gray

 

  • Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

 

 

  • Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman

 

  •  The Luna Chronicles: Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • The Luna Chronicles: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

 

  • The Luna Chronicles: Cress by Marissa Meyer

 

Okay, I’ll be honest…I didn’t read all of these. Listen, it wasn’t my fault okay! I was going to borrow the Lunar Chronicles from the library but someone had loaned it out so I couldn’t! Instead I read Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. If you’d like to see the blurbs for these books look at my post about the reading list from February which you can find here.

And here’s my reviews for those books!

Because You’ll Never Meet Me:

At the start of the book I was a bit skeptical about the whole writing style. There are 2 point of views, one from Ollie, the hermit boy who’s allergic to electricity. And the other from Moritz, the boy with no eyes.

The layout of the book is so that each chapter is from a different point of view from one of the boys. But instead of it being a first person typical sort of format, each chapter is actually a letter. So Ollie writes a letter to Moritz, and Moritz writes a letter to Ollie.

At first I thought this would end up being a disaster. How would they convey they’re personalities and thoughts, I asked. How would we learn about their past, I asked.

Well, let me tell you, I learnt more about those two boys through those letters than I ever would have through a first person format. I actually feel like I know these kids in real life. That’s how bloody good the writing is.

The way that they talk to each other through these letters feels so real and raw it’s insane. Especially considering that it’s probably impossible to have an electricity allergy. But it truly does feel like a real life experience. And I didn’t feel like I was reading as an outsider. I felt like I had been there, watching both of them all my life as they told their past stories and the secrets of their pasts.

This is definitely a book to read if you’re looking for a different type of format, something a bit unique. And unlike a lot of the other ‘teen fiction’ books that I read, this looked on love in a very different perspective. It was like looking at love from two points of view.

So yeah I really recommend reading this book because to be honest this was one of my favourites that I’ve read this year. I just love it so much, as you can probably tell from this insane description.

Review: 4/5 stars

 

A Thousand Pieces Of You:

Wow. That’s my summary for this book — wow.

A lot happened in this book and at the same time it felt quite simple and planned out.

To be honest I thought a lot more fantasy/science fiction was going to portrayed in this book but I actually thought it was a lot more romancey than expected. I read a few reviews that claimed that this was ‘a romance novel disguised as science fiction’ and while I don’t disagree with that, I don’t completely agree either.

It was obvious from the blurb of this book and by the first few chapters that it was DEFINITELY romance focused. Once she did her first dimension hop, I instantly knew that I was in for some sweet sweet lovin. I thought that perhaps it could have been a little more focused on the whole ‘oh my god we can travel through dimensions now???’ as I felt it only brushed over that topic in the beginning. It definitely could have been expanded on a bit more and I would have been really interested to read about some other dimensions they could’ve gone to.

My favourite parts of the book was definitely when she jumped to the next dimension. It was so thrilling and I just couldn’t wait to see what there would be on the other side. I really really wish we could have had a glimpse into a few other dimensions. I guess I’ll just have to read the second book to find out!

All up, I thought it was really good but could have been AMAZING with a few little tweaks. I was hooked for most of the book, the action and unspoken romance keeping me reeled in. I felt like maybe the beginning of the book could have been written a little bit better as I felt it was sort of bland. The ending and the middle was definitely addicting though, it was like I couldn’t even set the book down or this amazing world where dimension travel is possible would slip away.

All in all, good book, would definitely recommend.

Review: 4.5/5 stars

 

Ten Thousand Skies Above You:

Okay. Holy crap. I finished this book about half an hour ago and I think I might explode. THE ENDING WAS SO GOOD!

The start of the book started off really slow, like the first one, and I wasn’t too hooked on the storyline. I mean it was good, but it wasn’t amazing. But then as the story progressed and she started traveling to other dimensions and uncovering secrets about her boyfriend and Triad (the evil company trying to make her do bad stuff) it just got more and more intense and more interesting. By the last quarter of the book I was dying to finish it to find out what happened, I could barely put it down!

The ending finished on a big cliff hanger, which I loved, but I also found myself wanting the story to be wrapped up nicely. I honestly thought that it was going to end in sunshine and rainbows but no, instead I was greeted with an unexpected turn in events that I could never have suspected.

I’m very good at guessing the endings and complications of books. A lot of them are just so easy to guess what’s going to happen. But for this one I had no clue what was going to happen, and to be honest it was a lovely change. Sometimes it gets boring always knowing the outcome of a story but when something surprises me like this book did, its very pleasing to know that they got past my *cough* brilliant *cough* mind.

Overall, I would highly recommend if you enjoyed the first book, as I think its almost equally good.

Review: 4/5 stars

 

Lying About Last Summer:

I think I read this book in the span of about 3 days. It was sooo goooood. I know I say this about every book but seriously, I loved this one.

It was relatively short, and that can be dangerous for a book, but the author did it just right. There was no messing around, what she wanted to say, she said, and she did it well. It was short and snappy and I loved it. The last couple of books I’ve read have been quite large and so this was a good break in between. It’s always nice to read a short book that was fast and satisfying.

I think the ending of this book was done perfectly, a plot twist with a satisfying finish. And the plot twist was well done as well. It was unexpected but not too out of the blue.

Another aspect of this novel (ha using that word just makes me think of my bitchy English teacher ewwwww) that I loved was that it wasn’t totally devoted to the romance side of things. Sure, there was some romance in it but it wasn’t over done and it definitely wasn’t the main focus of the story. I really enjoyed how it showed what it’s like to be grieving for someone important in your life and I thought that they portrayed that really well. The way that they talked about death was really eye opening and creative which was a nice change from the usual kind of thing.

Other than that I don’t have much to say about this book. I very much liked it and I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves drama and romance novels.

Review: 4/5 stars

 

Eleanor and Park:

To be honest, I thought I would love this book. I thought that it would be sweet and sad and romantic, just like most teen romance books, but this book annoyed the shit out of me.

If you’ve read this book, I think you’ll know what I mean by this. Eleanor was so fucking annoying. The whole book I wanted to climb into the pages and slap her in the face. She was so petty and needy and moody and was such an asshole to Park. He deserved way better than her.

*SPOILER ALERT*

**

**

**

And at the end when she literally didn’t even open any of his letters or talk to him at all and she’s all like ‘I just want it to stop’ THINK ABOUT HOW PARK FEELS NOT JUST ABOUT YOU, YOU SELFISH BITCH.

**

**

**

*END OF SPOILER*

I get that she had a shitty life with her abusive dad and stuff, but Park had a pretty crappy life as well and I don’t think I heard her once in the whole book ask Park how he was feeling. He was having so many troubles with his family and stuff and she didn’t even care. It was always all about her. And when Park would try and help her, she wouldn’t even say anything or accept his help. I get that maybe she didn’t want to talk about it, but at least say that instead of just being a big old asshole to him.

So yeah, I really didn’t enjoy this book very much. It just annoyed me while I was reading it and I wanted to get it over and done with.

Review: 2/5 stars

 

So there we go! Those are my book reviews for my February/March Reading List!

I’ll be coming out with my April reading list tomorrow so make sure you check that out soon.

Reading: One Plus One

Page: 58

Thoughts: Well this guy fucked up didn’t he?

img_1818-3

Leave a Reply

