The Years To Come

Life is moving by so quickly.

In merely 9 days I’m going to be 15. 15! It’s such a small number, yet it seems so enormous and encompassing. I’ve been on this Earth for 15 years. 15 years where I’ve seen tragedy, joy, illness, destruction, actions of kindness that only occur every so often and everything in between. Hell, I even remember when nobody worried about climate change and everyone said things like “that won’t happen in my lifetime”. Look at the world now. I wonder what those people are thinking now.

In 5 weeks, semester 2 is going to start. It’s going to be term 3. That means that we are almost half way through the year.

It’s going to be June in 3 days. We only have 6 months left of 2017. Why do I feel like I’ve done nothing in that time? In 6 months you could be in your second trimester of pregnancy. In 6 months you could have traveled the whole of Europe. You could do so many things in 6 months but here I am sitting in my bedroom and all I have to show for 6 months are some crappy paintings, mediocre grades and a fucked up ankle.

Side note: Oh yeah by the way last weekend I fell over at netball and stuffed my ankle up so I had to go to hospital and get x rays and shit and they told me that I tore some really big ligaments in my foot which sucks and they said that if it doesn’t heal properly then I won’t be able to play netball ever again which I am sort of panicking about because netball is my escape and I love it with a passion so I can’t give it up. Okay deep breaths ha that was a long old sentence.

On June 3rd I’m going to be in Queensland. I’m going to Cairns and then Port Douglas which are cities up around the Great Barrier Reef in Australia and we’re going snorkeling and we’re gonna walk through the rain forests. It’s gonna be so fucking fun. I’ll definitely write a blog post for you guys about it when I get back.

At the end of this year I’ll be going on year 9 camp where we go to Sydney and basically do like a mini Amazing Race sort of thing.

I’m going to a Harry Styles concert in Sydney in December.

I’m going to an Ed Sheeran concert in March 2018.

I’m going to be in year 10.

I’m going to be 16

I’m going to learn to drive.

I’m going to graduate from high school.

I’m going to be in college (by the way college in Australia is year 11 and 12, not university).

I’m going to be in year 11.

I’m going to be a senior.

I’m going to be 17.

I’m going to get my P plates.

I’m going to get a job.

I’m going to be in year 12.

I’m going to be 18.

I’m going to be able to drink alcohol.

I’m going to graduate.

I’m going to go to university.

All of the stuff that I’ve listed above is all the shit that’s going to happen in the next 3 and a half years. 3 and a half fucking years. That’s nothing in the grand scheme of things. But yet, these next 3 and a half years are going to be the craziest years of my life so far.

And to be honest, I’m looking forward to it.

But I’m also a little scared.

But that’s okay. Because being scared means that you’re self aware. It means that you know that not everything is going to be perfect and you’re going to make mistakes and there’s going to be times when everything really fucking sucks. But you’ll get through it. And I know that because if you’re still here, alive right now, living on this Earth, then you’ve gotten through everything else.

So why couldn’t you get through this?

 

 

Leave a Reply

